top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMinerva Moon-Korobase

Preferences



"Ok, Min, since you're putting yourself out there on all this 'slgetaway' stuff, what do you think makes a good vacation in Second Life?"


Everyone will have a different opinion on this, of course, but here are my very subjective and ever-evolving criteria:


What I'm looking for

  • Gorgeous, explorable landscape

  • View of the water: ocean, lake, river, waterfall

  • Animals and birds everydamnwhere \o/

  • The house (or cabin, cottage, trailer, tent, yurt, etc.) is separate and "far enough" from other nearby rentals

  • The rental is completely furnished with high-quality, consistent decor, including animations

  • Some prims available for adding personal items

  • Easy rental process, and easy to add partner and guests

  • A central location to see available rentals and meet with the manager and maybe even other guests if I'm in one of my rare social moods

  • Small, clever details of verisimilitude

  • Helpful, kind, and polite managers (and I give back the same!)

What I do not like (but will likely tolerate)

  • Skyboxes

  • NPCs scattered all over the place (yes, that's subjective, a few are ok)

  • No parcel privacy (people being able to cam in and see what I'm up to)

  • RP "experiences," like restaurants, spas, personal trainers (I don't mind if they're there, just don't make me participate)

Dealbreakers

  • Lots of pink ... though I don't mind it in a sunrise or sunset!

  • Ugliness (again, so subjective)

  • Signs and advertising everywhere, especially if it doesn't fit the theme

  • "Family" focused locations; I'm not a big fan of the kid avs

  • Unpleasant people, whether managers or other guests


And you? What do you think makes a perfect SL getaway? Please tell me in the comments. :-)

(isn't it adorable how I assume I have any readers?)

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page