top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMinerva Moon-Korobase

Vacation? In Second Life? What?

I took my first vacation in Second Life in October 2018. I had been inspired by my friend Yany, who spent an entire summer month on NorderNey as a holiday earlier that year. He never left the sim; it was a "vacation" from the rest of SL. He certainly picked a gorgeous spot for the holiday, and I was fascinated by the concept. I wondered if I could do it, too. Could I spend a whole month on one sim? What about a week, or would I even last a weekend? I had to find out ...

That's me, the first day of my first vacation in Second Life.


I decided I could try for a week. I found an unfurnished rental cottage on a "resort" sim (that no longer exists), decorated it, and invited a couple of friends to join me so I wouldn't be too lonely. I made up some guidelines that I thought would help me feel like I really was "getting away from it all (in SL)": I couldn't leave the sim, but I could wander all around it. I could IM with my friends, but I couldn't accept tp's or tp them over unless they had been invited on the trip. Simple. That's what I was seeking: simplification, focus, relaxation. As in RL, so in SL.


Clearly, this first SL vacation agreed with me. I wanted it to be a yearly thing, but now I think it will be at least twice a year. Time will tell. :-) I am always on the lookout for the next holiday location, and my love and I about to embark on what I hope will be a spectacular weekend away together. More to come on that!



28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page